Skip to Content

Transfer Major Steering Committee

On this page...

At their 2017 summer retreat, Iowa's community college presidents elected to work with Division staff to draft a proposal for discipline-specific "Transfer Majors" within the Associate of Arts (AA) and Associate of Science (AS) degree programs. Drs. Allen (HCC), Ash (SCC), Kinney (ICCC), and Schulz (NIACC) agreed to represent the presidents on a subcommittee that met with Division staff to develop the proposal that was then approved by the IACCP in December 2017.

The proposal calls for a statewide structure to develop discipline-specific transfer majors consisting of at least 18 "core" credits aligned with related baccalaureate degree programs offered at Iowa's public universities (Regents). These core courses are to transfer directly into the Regents' related programs so that students do not have to repeat any courses once at a four-year institution. The courses may also satisfy general education requirements at both institutions when appropriate.

The primary objective of this statewide initiative is to provide guided pathways of coursework in students' chosen fields of study in order to streamline transfer, thereby reducing time to completion and student debt. Additionally, the community colleges will be permitted to market approved transfer majors and create student cohorts in these focused programs. Colleges will then be allowed to indicate the transfer majors on student transcripts.  These pathways should add academic relevance and create a sense of camaraderie for the students, which has proven to increase retention and completion.

This exciting collaborative effort official commenced on May 4, 2018, when the Transfer Major Steering Committee met to discuss their ambitious implementation plan. The committee, consisting of one representative from each of Iowa's 15 community colleges and three Regents institutions, will meet a few times this summer to establish policies, procedures, and guidance for subcommittees that will start meeting in the fall. These subcommittees, consisting of discipline-specific faculty and transfer specialists, will develop "Discipline Framework" within which colleges can design their transfer majors. This important work will be ongoing as the colleges attempt to reach consensus on the essential elements (i.e., courses and competencies) of the most popular programs of study statewide.

Steering Committee Resources

Transfer Major Steering Committee Proposal

Transfer Major Steering Committee Foundational Plan


Meeting Dates and Agendas

May 4, 2018  Agenda

August 2, 2018 – Agenda

September 14, 2018 – Agenda

October 12, 2018 – Agenda

December 14, 2018 – Agenda

February 8, 2019 – Agenda

March 8, 2019 – Agenda

July 19, 2019 – Agenda

November 14, 2019 – Agenda

April 10, 2020 – Agenda

July 15, 2020 – Agenda

October 14, 2020 – Agenda

March 4, 2021 – Agenda

April 27, 2021 – Agenda

Membership and Committee Structure

Executive Committee (7 members):
Set vision, keep colleges/colleagues committed, and navigate external politics
Linda Allen (HCC)
Michael Ash (SCC)
Dan Kinney, Jr. (ICC)
Steve Schulz (NIACC)
Bill Lamb (KCC - LACTS/CAO rep)
Rachel Boon (BOR)
Jeremy Varner (IDOE)

Statewide Steering Committee (19 members - 8 CC CAOs, 7 CC Deans/Directors (D/D), 3 Regent reps - transfer/admission, and 1 CC Student Affairs Representative):
Design TM structure and implementation tasks, timeline, and logistics; facilitate subcommittee work, & navigate internal politics
DMACC – Kari Hensen (D/D)
EICC – Jeremy Pickard (D/D)
HCC – Lynn LaGrone (CAO)
ICCC – Jennifer Condon (D/D)
IHCC – Jennifer Wilson (D/D)
ILCC – Scott Stokes (D/D)
IVCCD – Robin Lilienthal (CAO)
IWCC – Marge Welch (CAO)
KCC – Jennifer Bradley (CAO)
NIACC – Joe Davis (D/D)
NICC – Jeffrey J. Murphy (D/D)
NCC – John Hartog (CAO)
SCC – Kevin Teno (D/D)    
SWCC – Lindsay Stoaks (CAO)
WITCC – Darin Moeller (D/D)

Student Services Rep – Jon Buse (KCC)

Regent Representatives:
ISU - Diane Bengston
UI - Tom Paulsen
UNI - Paul Sapp

TM Subcommittees (5-15) – Discipline-specific; Review database for commonalities and transferability; develop framework for CurricUNET

Printed from the Iowa Department of Education website on September 30, 2022 at 3:25pm.