Skip to Content

Teacher Leadership and Compensation Task Force

This task force will develop recommendations for a new teacher leadership and compensation system that addresses the following:

  • Duties and responsibilities of apprentice, career, mentor, and master teachers
  • The use of retired teachers as mentors
  • Strategic use of finite resources
  • A mechanism to substantially increase the average salary of teachers who take on leadership roles
  • Implementation of the recommendations in Iowa’s public schools

The task force also will propose a peer coaching pilot project. The group’s proposals must be submitted to the State Board of Education, the Governor, and the Legislature by October 15.

Meeting Dates, Agendas and Notes

All meetings will run from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. at the Grimes State Office Building unless otherwise noted.



Task Force Lead: Ryan Wise, Iowa Department of Education, Des Moines

  • Teresa Bellinghausen, Heartland Area Education Agency, Johnston
  • Molly Boyle, Waukee Community School District/2011 Iowa Teacher of the Year, Waukee
  • Mary Jane Cobb, Iowa State Education Association, Des Moines
  • Tom Downs, Iowa Association of School Boards, Des Moines
  • Jessica Gogerty, Des Moines Public Schools, Des Moines
  • Jodie Graham, Ankeny Community School District, Ankeny
  • Justin Gross, Nevada Community School District, Nevada
  • Julie Heller, Davenport Community Schools, Davenport
  • Kent Henning, Grand View University, Des Moines
  • Angie Jandrey, Mount Pleasant Community School District, Mount Pleasant
  • Ann Lebo, English Instructor, Grundy Center High School and Hawkeye Community College
  • Duane Magee, Board of Educational Examiners, Des Moines
  • Kent Mick, Corwith-Wesley-LuVerne Community School District, Corwith
  • Diane Pratt, Fort Dodge Community School District, Fort Dodge
  • Dan Smith, School Administrators of Iowa, Des Moines
  • David Stoakes, Cedar Falls Community School District (retired), Cedar Falls
  • Denny Wulf, Norwalk Community School District, Norwalk
  • Don Zuck, Ankeny Economic Development Corp., Ankeny
  • Paul Gausman, Sioux City Community School District, Sioux City
  • Connie Boesen, Des Moines Public Schools Board of Directors, Des Moines
  • Carl Smith, Iowa State University, Ames
  • Mike Cormack, Iowa Department of Education, Des Moines
  • Isaiah McGee, Iowa Department of Education, Des Moines
  • Mike May, State Board of Education, Spirit Lake


Printed from the Iowa Department of Education website on January 21, 2021 at 12:01pm.