Skip to Content

Social Studies Standards Review Team

This state team conducted a public review of draft social studies standards submitted by the Social Studies Standards Writing Team.

Final Report and Proposed Standards

Iowa Social Studies Standards: Writing and Review Process

Iowa Social Studies Standards

Meeting Dates, Agendas, and Notes

Wednesday, March 1, 2017

Tuesday, February 7, 2017

Tuesday, January 24, 2017

Tuesday, January 10, 2017

Tuesday, November 8, 2016


  • Alex Abbe, teacher, Marshalltown Community School District
  • Amber Davison, teacher leader, Des Moines Public Schools
  • Janet Wills, teacher, Southeast Webster-Grand Community School District
  • Beverley McPherson, teacher, Des Moines Public Schools
  • Nan Kiel, teacher, Bishop Heelan Catholic Schools
  • Dominic Iannone, teacher, Iowa City Community School District
  • Holly Glade, teacher, Dallas Center-Grimes Community School District
  • Steve Bomgaars, teacher, Spencer Community School District
  • Michelle Anderson, teacher, College Community School District
  • Heather Coffman, teacher, Van Buren Community School District
  • Linda Linn, consultant, Prairie Lakes Area Education Agency
  • Lisa Lueken, social studies curriculum coordinator, Dubuque Community School District
  • Mark Core, adjunct social studies methods professor, Central College
  • Greg Dufoe, superintendent, Adel Desoto Minburn Community School District
  • Jason Harshman, professor, University of Iowa Department of Education
  • John Wheeler, director, Iowa State Bar Association Center for Law & Civic Education
  • Rob Dittmer, K-12 social studies curriculum specialist, Council Bluffs Community School District
  • Cynthia Phillips, principal, AHSTW Community School District
  • Nancy Elliott, executive director, Iowa Council for the Social Studies
  • Leah Slick-Driscoll, teacher, Meskwaki Settlement

Printed from the Iowa Department of Education website on October 20, 2021 at 3:49pm.