Skip to main content

Secondary Career and Technical Education (CTE) Task Force

The Secondary Career and Technical Education (CTE) Task Force was established as part of House File 604 to make recommendations to reduce skill shortages, enhance economic growth, and ensure that all students have access to high quality, globally competitive career and technical education programs.


Final Report of the Secondary Career and Technical Education Task Force (2015-12-01)

Secondary Career and Technical Education Task Force: Interim Progress Report (2014-01-15)

Meeting Dates, Agendas, and Notes

October 27, 2015

September 11, 2015

July 10, 2015

May 1, 2015

March 6, 2015

January 16, 2015

December 5, 2014

October 3, 2014

June 26, 2014

March 7, 2014

December 19, 2013


Lead: Pradeep Kotamraju, Bureau of Career and Technical Education Chief, Iowa Department of Education
Facilitator: Dave Bunting, Independent Education Consultant, Cedar Rapids

  • Karrie Abbott, Vice President of Community Impact, United Way of the Quad Cities Area, Davenport
  • Mary Bontrager, Executive Vice President, Workforce Development/Education, Greater Des Moines Partnership, Des Moines
  • Matt Bruinekool, Educational Consultant, Master Builders of Iowa, Des Moines
  • Josh Byrnes, State Representative, Osage*
  • Mark Chelgren, State Senator, Ottumwa*
  • Nicole Crain, Senior Vice President of Government Relations, Iowa Association of Business and Industry
  • Greg Dufoe, Superintendent, Adel-DeSoto-Minburn Community School District, Adel
  • Chris Duree, Chancellor, Iowa Valley Community College District, Marshalltown
  • Murray Fenn, Consultant, Green Hills Area Education Agency, Council Bluffs
  • Scott Fortune, Iowa Association of School Boards, Des Moines
  • Jerry Kearns, State Representative, Keokuk*
  • Gail Kotval, Iowa Innovation Council Program Manager, Iowa Economic Development Authority, Des Moines*
  • Dana Lampe, President, Iowa Association of Career and Technical Education, Marion
  • D.T. Magee, Executive Director, Iowa Board of Educational Examiners, Des Moines*
  • Randy Mead, Executive Dean of Program Development, Des Moines Area Community College, Ankeny
  • Kathy Nacos-Burds, Vice President of Academic Affairs, Northeast Community College, Calmar
  • Julie Rosin, Assistant Director, Central Campus, Des Moines
  • Vicky Rossander, Executive Board Member, Iowa State Educational Association, Des Moines
  • Ken Sager, President, Iowa Federation of Labor, AFL-CIO, Des Moines
  • Brian Schoenjahn, State Senator, Arlington*
  • Elliott Smith, Executive Director, Iowa Business Council, Des Moines
  • Lisa Stange, FCEDS Program Coordinator, Iowa State University, Ames
  • Jeremy Varner, Division of Community Colleges Administrator, Iowa Department of Education, Des Moines*
  • Ed Wallace, Deputy Director, Iowa Workforce Development, Des Moines*
  • Jeff Weld, Executive Director, Governor’s STEM Advisory Council, Des Moines*

*Ex-officio/nonvoting member