Skip to Content

Assessment Task Force

On this page...

The Assessment Task Force was commissioned by the 2013 General Assembly to study the state’s assessment needs and to recommend a new state assessment for public and accredited nonpublic schools.


2014-12-31 Iowa Assessment Task Force Report

2016-03-21 Iowa Assessment Task Force Report - Science

Meeting Dates, Agendas, and Notes

March 11,2016

February 16, 2016

January 20, 2016

January 15, 2016

December 15, 2015

November 10, 2015

October 27 and 30, 2015

September 30, 2015

December 17, 2014

December 10, 2014

November 4, 2014

October 23, 2014

October 15, 2014

September 17, 2014

August 14,2014


Lead: David Tilly

  • Ann Benzshawel, Secondary Curriculum Facilitator, Des Moines Public Schools, Des Moines (replaced member Shelly Bosovich in September 2015)
  • Catherine Blando, Educator, Iowa City
  • Kathy Brenny, Consultant, Prairie Lakes Area Education Agency, Storm Lake
  • Martha Bruckner, Superintendent, Council Bluffs Community School District, Council Bluffs
  • Joe DeHart, Executive Director, Institutional Effectiveness, DMACC, Ankeny
  • Lowell Ernst, Director of K-12 Instruction, Pella Community School District, Pella
  • Diana Gonzalez, Chief Academic Officer, Board of Regents, Urbandale
  • Harry Heiligenthal, Leadership Development Director, Iowa Association of School Boards, Des Moines
  • Tina Hoffman, Regional Administrator, Grant Wood Area Education Agency, Cedar Rapids
  • Kenda Jochimsen, Principal and Director of Human Resources, Urbandale Community Schools, Urbandale (replaced member Ruth Allison in September 2015)
  • Mark Lane, Principal, Jensen Elementary, Urbandale
  • Jo Ellen Latham, Director of Curriculum and Instruction, Southeast Polk Community School District, Pleasant Hill
  • Jane Lindaman, Superintendent, Waterloo Community School District, Waterloo
  • Jon McKenzie, Director of Assessment  & Comprehensive Improvement, Area Education Agency 267, Cedar Falls
  • Angela Olson, Associate Principal, Xavier High School, Cedar Rapids
  • Elliott Smith, Executive Director, Iowa Business Council, Des Moines
  • David Tilly, Deputy Director, Iowa Department of Education, Des Moines
  • Denise Wall, Educator, IKM-Manning Middle School, Manilla
  • Tammy Wawro, President, Iowa State Education Association, Des Moines
  • Melanie Wirtz, Teacher, Union High School, La Porte City
  • Karen Woltman, Parent, Swisher


Printed from the Iowa Department of Education website on September 24, 2022 at 10:35am.