Skip to Content

Iowa's Alternate Assessments for Students with Significant Cognitive Disabilities

Contact(s)

On this page...

The Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) requires that all students, even those with the most significant cognitive disabilities, have access to the general education curriculum. The Iowa Alternate Assessments are for students with the most significant cognitive disabilities whose academic performance is appropriately judged against alternate achievement standards. They promote fair measure of student knowledge of the Iowa Core English Language Arts, Mathematics, and Science Essential Elements.

Iowa uses two assessments to measure the achievement of students that participate in the alternate assessments. The Dynamic Learning Maps (DLM) Assessments for ELA and math are year-long instructionally embedded assessments and assess English Language Arts (ELA) and mathematics in Grades 3–11. Science is a year-end assessment for Grades 5, 8, and 10 with assessments available during the fall as well as the required spring assessment. The Dynamic Learning Maps Aligned K–6 Early Literacy Alternate Assessment (EL AA) will be used to meet the Early Literacy screening and progress monitoring requirements. This assessment has been state-approved for children with significant cognitive disabilities.

Eligibility Guidelines

Iowa's Participation Guidelines – The criteria for participation in Iowa’s Alternate Assessments for both the Dynamic Learning Maps (DLM) and the State of Iowa's Early Literacy Alternate Assessment - the Dynamic Learning Maps Aligned K–6 Early Literacy Alternate Assessment reflect the pervasive nature of a significant cognitive disability. IEP teams must select the alternate assessment as the only option for all subject content areas assessed. Students who participate in Iowa’s Alternate Assessments will not participate in Iowa Assessments. Participation guidelines are programmed into the IowaIDEA-Web IEP application.

Exemption Policy

Every student is to be tested, even those who receive homebound services or attend a shortened school day. District Assessment Coordinators should contact Jennifer Denne, Alternate Assessment Consultant, at jennifer.denne@iowa.gov for guidance on assessment requirements for students who are receiving homebound services or attend shortened school day.

The DLM ELA and Math Alternate Assessments and the Dynamic Learning Maps Aligned K–6 Literacy Alternate Assessment - Iowa are year-long assessments, so to say, “we need to exclude this student from the testing window,” means the student is being excluded from participation in the Iowa Core, which is documented as non-compliance and illegal. The DLM Science alternate assessment is a year-end assessment that measures student outcomes of year-long science instruction.

There is no opt-out option for assessment participation. The only decision an IEP team can make is which type of assessment the student will participate: either the general assessment or the alternate assessment.

AEA and UEN Support

Area Education Agency (AEA) and Urban Education Network (UEN) Significant Disabilities Coordinators provide technical assistance and support in implementation of the Iowa Core Essential Elements and Iowa’s Alternate Assessments.

Area Education Agency Significant Disabilities Coordinators

AEA Name Email Address
Keystone AEA 1 Barb Pline bpline@aea1.k12.ia.us
Central Rivers AEA 267 Rochelle Richards rrichards@centralriversaea.org
Prairie Lakes AEA 8 Gloria Bartlet gbartlet@plaea.org
Mississippi Bend AEA 9 Patrick Judkins pjudkins@aea9.k12.ia.us
Grant Wood AEA 10 Tina Hoffman thoffman@gwaea.org
Heartland AEA 11 Marty Ikeda mikeda@heartlandaea.org
Northwest AEA 12 Patty Kann pkann@nwaea.org
Green Hills AEA Ron Russell rrussell@ghaea.org
Green Hills AEA Joe Woracek jworacek@ghaea.org
Great Prairie AEA 15 Angelisa Braakksma Fynaardt angelisa.fynaardt@gpaea.org

Urban Education Network Significant Disabilities Coordinators

District Name Email Address
Cedar Rapids CSD Anne Faber afaber@crschools.us
Council Bluffs CSD Dawn Bonsall dbonsall@cbcsd.org
Davenport CSD Chelsey Boldt boldtc@mail.davenport.k12.ia.us
Des Moines CSD Melissa Krumm melissa.krumm@dmschools.org
Des Moines CSD Adam Liker-Hill adam.likerhill@dmschools.org
Des Moines CSD Laurel Friedman  laurel.friedman@dmschools.org
Dubuque CSD Lori Anderson loanderson@dbqschools.org
Iowa City CSD Deborah Scott scott.deborah@iowacityschools.org
Sioux City CSD Kim Neal nealk@live.siouxcityschools.com
Waterloo CSD Michael Twedt tweedtm@waterlooschools.org

Dynamic Learning Maps (DLM)

DLM assessments are computer-based and serve the small proportion of the student population (1%) with significant cognitive disabilities for whom general state assessments are not appropriate, even with accommodations. DLM assessments offer these students in Grades 3 through 11 a way to show what they know and can do.

Learn more about DLM Alternate Assessments.

Iowa’s DLM webpage contains assessment supports and materials for Iowa District Alternate Assessment Coordinators, District Data Stewards, Technology Liaisons, and Test Administrators.

Dynamic Learning Maps FAQs 2022–2023 – This document provides answers to frequently asked questions of Policy and Guidance and components of the Dynamic Learning Maps Alternate Assessment.

DLM Assessment Windows for 2022–2023

The DLM Assessment is an instructionally embedded assessment that includes fall and spring assessment windows. Each window includes two (2) phases.

Fall

  • Phase 1: September 12 – October 28, 2022
  • Phase 2: October 31 – December 16, 2022

Spring

  • Phase 1: February 6 – March 24, 2023
  • Phase 2: March 27 – May 19, 2023

Iowa's K–6 Early Literacy Alternate Assessment (EL AA)

The DLM Aligned K–6 Early Literacy Alternate Assessment (EL AA) is intended to provide a developmentally appropriate, naturalistic approach to progress monitoring beginning in the fall of kindergarten and extending through the end of sixth grade. The assessment is designed to provide schools with the alternate assessment they need to include students with the most significant cognitive disabilities to meet the universal screening and progress monitoring requirements.

Early Literacy Alternate Assessment Guidance

Early Literacy Alternate Assessment Flow Chart of Options – Provides initial guidance for IEP teams in the determining participation in the in the Dynamic Learning Maps Aligned K–6 Early Literacy Alternate Assessment.

State of Iowa’s eligibility guidelines for participation in Iowa’s Alternate Assessments (2020-08-03) – Individual Education Program (IEP) teams are required to use this document for student participation in Iowa’s Alternate Assessments. This document is programmed within the IowaIDEA-Web IEP application.

Dynamic Learning Maps Aligned K–6 Early Literacy Alternate Assessment FAQs 2022–2023 – Provides answers to frequently asked questions of Policy and Guidance and components of the Assessment.

The Dynamic Learning Maps Aligned K-6 Early Literacy Alternate Assessment - Iowa Manual

K–6 Early Literacy Alternate Assessment Timeline for 2022–2023

The K-6 Early Literacy Alternate Assessment has three (3) assessment windows:

Fall

  • Instructional/Data Collection Window: August 29, 2022 – September 30, 2022
  • Reporting Window: September 19, 2022 – September 30, 2022

Winter

  • Instructional/Data Collection Window: October 3 – February 3, 2023
  • Reporting Window: January 23, 2023 – February 3, 2023

Spring

  • Instructional/Data Collection Window: February 2 – May 26, 2023
  • Reporting Window: May 15 – May 26, 2022

Join Our Community

The Iowa Department of Education hosts a Google Site specifically for educators and administrators that work directly with Iowa's Alternate Assessments, including DLM Instructional Resources and Test Blueprints, and the DLM Aligned K–6 Early Literacy Alternate Assessment Manual. If you are interested in joining our community, contact Jennifer Denne at jennifer.denne@iowa.gov.

Printed from the Iowa Department of Education website on August 16, 2022 at 2:21am.