Skip to Content

School Transportation Advisory Groups


On this page...

Maintenance and Inspection Advisory Council

The purpose of the Maintenance and Inspection Advisory Council is as an advisory group and sounding board for the school bus inspection team when issues arise that aren't directly addressed by guidance or rule. The school bus inspection team inspects over 8000 school vehicles twice every school year. While most inspection concerns and issues meet accepted criteria, there will on occasion arise a question, concern, or issue that needs additional input for clarification of how to proceed. The council advises and works with the inspection team to help all parties to proceed in a fair and understandable manner. There are both permanent and rotating members on the council. The permanent members are from the Department of Education transportation team, while the rotating members include both transportation directors and mechanics from around the State of Iowa. A formal meeting is held once a year, while specific issues are addressed on an as needed basis via electronic communications.

Name Organization Email
Troy Griffith Transportation Director, Perry CSD
Jeff Harbaugh Transportation Director, Edgewood-Colesburg CSD
David Johnson Transportation Director, Van Meter CSD
Jason Logan Lead Tech, Indianola CSD
Randy Merrigan Lead Tech, Sioux City CSD
Tammy Oaks Transportation Director, Tipton CSD
Leo Reigelsbeger Transportation Director, Humboldt CSD
John Wibbell Lead Tech, Fort Madison CSD
Max Christensen Dept. of Education
Joe Funk Dept. of Education
Tom Simpson Dept. of Education
Verlan Vos Dept. of Education

Transportation Advisory Group

The purpose of the Transportation Advisory Group is to discuss transportation concerns and problems as they arise throughout the year and to help forge solutions to these various types of school transportation issues. The group serves as a sounding board for the school transportation community in Iowa. Members are invited by the Bureau of School Business Operations. The members are from around the state, and all have a vested interest in school transportation, and includes both permanent and rotating members. The permanent members are from the Department of Education transportation team, along with the Executive Director of the Iowa Pupil Transportation Association. Rotating members include transportation directors, transportation dispatchers and administrative assistants, the Iowa State Patrol, superintendents, transportation contractors, transportation networking companies, and school bus driver inservice instructors. Meetings are typically held twice a year, once in the spring and once in the fall. 

Name Position Organization Email
Tom Lamansky Transportation Director Cardinal CSD
Staci Tull Administrative Assistant Clarke CSD
Tyfani Nagy District Manager First Student, Inc.
Rod Larson Public Resource Officer Iowa State Patrol
Chris Darling Executive Director IPTA
Mike McCrory Owner/Operator Kids Zoom TNC
Dolores Bergert Driver Trainer Mississippi Bend AEA
Randy Meyer Contractor North Iowa Bus
Clark Wicks Superintendent Perry CSD
Jeff Wellik Transportation Director Roland-Story CSD
Robin Pickard Transportation Director West Des Moines CSD
Tom Cooley Bureau Chief Department of Education
Mary Jo Clark Clerk Department of Education
Joe Funk District Mechanic Department of Education
Tom Simpson District Mechanic Department of Education
Verlan Vos District Mechanic Department of Education
Earl Whipple Division Administrator Department of Education
Max Christensen Executive Officer Department of Education

Printed from the Iowa Department of Education website on October 27, 2021 at 11:37pm.