Skip to Content

School Counseling

On this page...

A school counseling program is an articulated, sequential, kindergarten-through-grade 12 program that is comprehensive in scope, preventative in design, developmental in nature, driven by data, and integral to the school district’s curricula and instructional program. The program must be implemented by a qualified professional school counselor who is appropriately licensed by the Iowa Board of Educational Examiners.

School Counseling endorsements include:

K-12 Articulated, Sequential School Counseling Programs

Iowa Professional School Counselor Administrative Rules

American School Counselor Association (ASCA)

Iowa’s College and Career Readiness Definition

Iowa School Counseling Association (ISCA)

Iowa's Chapter 12 Interpretation Matrix - Includes standards for school counseling programs

School Counselor as a Professional

Evaluation Supplement for School Counselors - Tool to support the administrator and the counselor through the evaluation process.

The following institutions provide training and licensing in Iowa for School Counselors:

Ethical Standards for School Counselors

Toolkits, Frameworks, and Resources for School Counselors

Mindsets and Behaviors for Student Success

ASCA National Model Templates and Resources

Professional Development of School Counselors

Resources for Implementing Programs

Iowa Return-to-Learn Support - Social-Emotional-Behavioral Health (Equity)

Iowa's Multi-Tiered System of Supports (MTSS)

Iowa's Positive Behavioral Interventions and Supports (PBIS)

Social-Emotional Learning

Bullying/Harassment

Mental Health

Attendance Works

College and Career Readiness

Future Ready Iowa

Iowa Clearinghouse for Work-Based Learning

Career and Academic Planning

Iowa’s College and Career Readiness Definition

Community Colleges

Iowa College Aid

AEA Support Contacts

AEA Contact Email Telephone
Central Rivers Chuck Buseman cbuseman@centralriversaea.org 641-425-5954
Central Rivers Angie Koop akoop@centralriversaea.org 319-429-0567
Grant Wood Amie Hospodarsky (K-5) ahospodarsky@gwaea.org 319-399-6816
Grant Wood Debra Brokaw (6-12) dbrokaw@gwaea.org 319-399-6790
Grant Prairie Jaci Jarmes jaci.jarmes@gpaea.org 641-660-1847
Green Hills Andrea Danker adanker@ghaea.org 712-307-2482
Green Hills Kathy Hanafan khanafan@ghaea.org  
Heartland Sue Schirmer sschirmer@heartlandaea.org 515-383-5006
Keystone Scotti Hagensick shagensick@keystoneaea.org 563-245-1480
Mississippi Bend David Ford dford@mbaea.org 563-344-6571
Northwest Mark Shea mshea@nwaea.org 712-222-6332
Prairie Lakes  Courtney Cook ccook@plaea.org 712-346-5037

 

Printed from the Iowa Department of Education website on September 24, 2022 at 8:01pm.