Skip to Content

Next Generation Science Standards (NGSS) Task Force

On this page...

Twenty-eight Iowans are serving as members of a state task force to review and make recommendations to the State Board of Education about whether the the Next Generation Science Standards should be adopted as part of the Iowa Core.

The new science standards represent a multi-state effort to develop a common set of learning expectations in science for students in kindergarten through high school.

Twenty-six states, including Iowa, worked to develop the Next Generation Science Standards during a two-year collaborative state-led process that was managed by Achieve, a nonprofit education organization. About 70 Iowans were involved, including K-12 educators, science consultants, higher education faculty, and Iowa Department of Education staff members.

The Next Generation Science Standards are internationally benchmarked and identify science and engineering practices and content with a focus on preparing students in kindergarten through 12th grade to go to college or to enter the workforce. The standards were released in April and are available for voluntary adoption in states.

Iowa’s role as a lead state partner included gathering and delivering feedback from state-level committees as the standards were being drafted. Lead state partners also agreed to give serious consideration to adopting the Next Generation Science Standards.

Meeting Dates, Agendas, and Notes

Meeting Time: 10 a.m. - 3 p.m.

Meeting Location:
Science Center of Iowa
401 W. Martin Luther King Jr. Parkway
Des Moines, IA 50309

October 16, 2013

September 18, 2013

August 21, 2013


  • DeEtta Andersen, Science Teacher, Center Point-Urbana Community School District, Center Point
  • Ross Brunner, Student, Marion High School, Marion
  • Kelly Carr, Science Teacher, Lewis Central Community School District, Council Bluffs
  • Carleigh Cass, Student, Central Lee Middle School, Donnellson
  • Leslie Flynn, Professor in Science Education, University of Iowa, Iowa City
  • Ken Harrison, Director of Curriculum, Instruction and Assessment, Chariton Community School District, Chariton
  • Melissa Hesner, Science Consultant, Area Education Agency 267, Cedar Falls
  • Jill Jennings, Parent and Substitute Teacher, Spirit Lake
  • Dan Kelley, State Representative, Newton
  • Mike Knedler, State Board of Education Member, Council Bluffs
  • Jerrid Kruse, Professor of Science Education, Drake University, Des Moines
  • Christopher Like, Science Teacher, Bettendorf Community School District, Bettendorf
  • Mark McDermott, Senior Test Development Associate, ACT, Inc., Iowa City
  • Leslie Miller, Professor of Computer Science, Iowa State University, Ames
  • David Moore, Hardware Operations Manager-Council Bluffs, Google, Council Bluffs
  • Scott Moran, School Improvement Coordinator, Denison Community School District, Denison
  • Nancy Movall, K-12 Online Learning Specialist, Iowa’s Area Education Agencies, Council Bluffs
  • Denise Mulcahy, Director of Teaching and Learning, Diocese of Des Moines
  • Dawn Posekany, Science Teacher, Solon Community School District, Solon
  • Joseph Schwanebeck, Director of Education, Science Center of Iowa, Des Moines
  • Amy Sinclair, State Senator, Allerton
  • Stacey Snyder, Principal, St. Paul's Lutheran School, Waverly
  • Joshua Steenhoek, Elementary Teacher, Pella Community School District, Pella
  • Kevin Vidergar, Director of Teaching and Learning, Perry Community School District, Perry
  • Kimberly Villotti, Education Consultant, Iowa Department of Education, Des Moines
  • Kari Webb, Regional STEM Manager, Governor’s STEM Initiative, Estherville
  • Mike Wedge, Science Teacher and Science/STEM Coordinator, Sibley-Ocheyedan Community School District, Sibley
  • Aaron Wills, Student, Central Lee Middle School, Donnellson

Printed from the Iowa Department of Education website on April 16, 2021 at 6:27pm.