Skip to Content

Literacy Standards Review Team

The Literacy Standards Review Team is charged with reviewing the Iowa K-12 English Language Arts Standards and the Grades 6-12 Literacy Standards for History, Social Studies, Science, and Technical Subjects in order to:

  • Identify the level of stakeholder agreement/disagreement with the standards
  • Identify revisions of standards necessary to improve the quality of teaching and learning
  • Assess the current levels of implementation of the standards among Iowa K-12 teachers
  • Identify needs for professional learning related to the K-12 Iowa Literacy Standards

Final Report

2016-09-22 Literacy Standards Review Team Report

Meeting Dates, Agendas and Notes

September 20 and 22, 2016

June 22, 2016

May 25, 2016

April 27, 2016

March 23, 2016

February 24, 2016


  • Vickie Anstey, Griswold Community School District
  • Beth Baker-Brodersen, Des Moines Area Community College
  • Sandra Beisker, Dubuque Community School District
  • Lauren Burt, Meredith Corporation
  • Bridget Castelluccio, Cedar Rapids Community School District
  • Kara Dietrich, Ballard Community School District
  • Dixie Forcht, South Tama Community School District
  • Carol Glackin, Morningside College
  • Mendy Haefs, St. Patrick Elementary School, Sheldon
  • Liz Hansen, Grinnell-Newburg Community School District
  • Sally Huddle, Iowa Wesleyan University
  • Laura Johnson, Grant Wood Area Education Agency
  • Heather Lundquist, Atlantic Community School District
  • Kelsey Meyer, Grundy Center Community School District
  • Kristine Milburn, West Des Moines Community School District
  • Erin Miller, Ames Community School District
  • Kathy Perret, Northwest Area Education Agency
  • Deborah Reed, Iowa Reading Research Center
  • Jonathan Rogers, Iowa City Community School District
  • Molly Tripp, A-H-S-T Community School District
  • Josh Wager, Des Moines Public Schools
  • Sarah Brown Wessling, Johnston Community School District

Printed from the Iowa Department of Education website on September 30, 2022 at 3:23pm.