Skip to Content

Every Student Succeeds Act Advisory Committee

A state committee to provide input on the development of Iowa’s plan to meet the federal Every Student Succeeds Act.

Meeting Dates, Agendas, and Notes

Meeting Location:
10:00 a.m. – 3:00 p.m.
Iowa Department of Education
Grimes State Office Building
Room B100 (located in the basement)
Des Moines, IA 50319-0146

July 25, 2017

February 17, 2017

December 7, 2016

October 19, 2016

August 18, 2016


  • Tom Ahart, Superintendent, Des Moines Public Schools
  • Perla Alarcon-Flory, Sioux City School Board Member
  • Lisa Bartusek, Executive Director, Iowa Association of School Boards
  • Mike Beranek, teacher, West Des Moines Schools
  • Amber Boyd, Iowa City Community Schools
  • Tod Bowman, State Senator
  • Margaret Buckton, Iowa School Finance Information Services
  • Mary Jane Cobb, Executive Director, Iowa State Education Association
  • Bill Decker, Administrator, Mississippi Bend Area Education Agency
  • Sandy Dockendorff, School Board Member, Danville Community Schools
  • Mark Felderman, Deputy Director, Legislative Affairs, Professional Educators of Iowa
  • Kevin Fiene, Superintendent, Interstate 35 Community Schools
  • Jim Hawkins, Senior Director, Professional Educators of Iowa
  • Jennykaye Hampton, Cedar Rapids Schools
  • Roark Horn, Executive Director, School Administrators of Iowa
  • Terri Lasswell, University of Northern Iowa
  • Josie Lewis, Director of Policy and Legal Services, Iowa Association of School Boards
  • Charles McNulty, Assoc. Supt., Educational Services, Waterloo Community Schools
  • Sam Miller, Administrator, Area Education Agency 267
  • Jill Morrill, School Board Member, Johnston Community Schools
  • Tom Moore, State Representative
  • Robert Nishimwe, Student State Board Member
  • Bob Olson, Superintendent, Clarion-Goldfield-Dows Community Schools
  • Melissa Peterson, Government Relations Specialist, Iowa State Education Association
  • Jill Philby, teacher, Lynnville-Sully Community Schools
  • Dan Ryan, Superintendent of Schools, Diocese of Sioux City
  • Dana Schon, Professional Learning Director, School Administrators of Iowa
  • Amy Sinclair, State Senator
  • Scott Slechta, 2016 Iowa Teacher of the Year, Fairfield Community Schools
  • Daniel Spikes, Professor, Iowa State University
  • Bryan Stearns, Assoc. Principal, West Des Moines Schools
  • Dani Trimble, Superintendent, Alburnett Community Schools
  • Tammy Wawro, President, Iowa State Education Association
  • Justin Wagner, Superintendent, Harlan Community Schools
  • Thatcher Williams, Iowa PTA

Printed from the Iowa Department of Education website on September 24, 2022 at 11:33am.