Skip to Content

English Language Learner Task Force

The English Language Learner Task Force will help Iowa move forward strategically and thoughtfully to improve the instruction of limited English proficient students through an examination of the best practices for such instruction and an examination of possible accountability measures related to funding under Iowa Code section 280.4.

The department’s study shall focus on identifying goals, objectives, benchmarks, key funding considerations, and monitoring measures, including but not limited to the following: a deep data study of Iowa ELs (years in program, exit data to include the number of students exited after two years, three years, four years, etc., long-term ELs, correlation between formal schooling in native language and years in program, and other relevant data questions); multi-state EL performance to compare with Iowa-specific results; research-based best practices for language instruction education programs (LIEP) including but not limited to private vendor programs; monitoring process for weighted funds to ensure that they are being utilized for the LIEP for ELs; research into the possibility of a tiered weighting system that links level of weighting to language proficiency level as well as prior formal schooling and immigrant or migrant status; and an exploration of enhanced systems of data collection and reporting to provide general education teachers with high quality data to differentiate instruction based on language proficiency level.

This taskforce, which is made up of school administrators and representatives from Area Education Agencies, educator stakeholder groups, higher education, and the business community will utilize the results from the study outlined above to report to the Iowa Department of Education in preparation for a formal recommendation to the Iowa Legislature.

Final Report

English Language Learner Task Force Final Report

Meeting Dates

  • October 11, 2013
  • September 26, 2013
  • September 12, 2013
  • August 29, 2013
  • August 15, 2013
  • July 19, 2013
  • June 28, 2013
  • June 14, 2013
  • May 23, 2013


Lead:  Byron Darnall and Jobi Lawrence

  • Kathy Brenny, Prairie Lakes AEA
  • Margaret Buckton, Urban Education Network
  • Jason Chapman*, House Staff
  • Mike Cormack*, Iowa Department of Education
  • David Epley*, House Staff
  • Linda Fandel*, Governors Office
  • Kevin Fangman, Heartland AEA
  • Shelley Fairbairne, Drake University
  • Monica Figueroa, Student
  • Bridget Godes*, Senate Staff
  • Tammy Gregersen, University of Northern Iowa
  • Mary Grey, University of Northern Iowa
  • Gannon Hendrick*, Senate Staff
  • Stephaney Jones Vo, Heartland AEA
  • Heather Langenfeld, Denison CSD
  • Thomas Mayes*, Iowa Department of Education
  • Isiaiah  McGee*, Iowa Department of Education
  • Dick Murphy, Des Moines School Board           
  • Kerri Nelson, Iowa Association of School Boards
  • Vinh Nguyen, Des Moines Public Schools
  • Mike Pardun, Denison CSD
  • Aiddy Phomvisay, Marshalltown CSD
  • Lia Plakans, University of Iowa
  • Nicole Proesch*, Iowa Department of Education
  • Leslie Schrier, University of Iowa
  • Dan Smith, School Administrators of Iowa
  • Deng Mathayo Tiir, Des Moines Public School
  • Dave Wilkerson, Waukee CSD
  • Tammy Wawro, Iowa State Education Association
  • Amy White, Waterloo CSD
  • Phil Wise*, Iowa Department of Education
  • Don Yarbrough, University of Iowa

*Non-voting member


Printed from the Iowa Department of Education website on October 03, 2022 at 9:55am.