Skip to Content

Developmental Education Work Group


On this page...

The Developmental Education Work Group is charged with reviewing the diversity of developmental education offerings across the state, addressing any inequities and opportunities for improvement, and identifying best practices that result in high postsecondary retention and completion rates. These efforts will help the Future Ready Iowa Alliance implement strategies for reaching the statewide goal for 70 percent of all working-age Iowans having postsecondary credentials by 2025.

A second group, the High School and Community College Developmental Education Partnerships Work Group, was established to identify components of effective college transitions models based on current pilot initiatives, and to develop recommendations to scale across Iowa.


Developmental Education: Recommendations to Improve Postsecondary Student Success

Meeting Dates and Agendas

March 1, 2018

Jan. 26, 2018

Oct. 24, 2017


Northeast Iowa Community College (NICC) - Renee Wright, Faculty in Mathematics
North Iowa Area Community College (NIACC) - Dalila Sajadian, Student Learning Coordinator
Iowa Lakes Community College (ILCC) - Lisa Stich, Executive Dean
Northwest Iowa Community College (NCC) - Sarah Breems-Diekevers, Adult Literacy Coordinator
Iowa Central Community College (ICCC) - John Hansen, Dean of STEMM
Iowa Valley Community College District (IVCCD) -- Nate Chua, Dean of Students and Learning Services
Hawkeye Community College (HCC) - Linda Allen, President
Eastern Iowa Community Colleges (EICC) - Joan Kindle, Vice Chancellor for Education and Training (CAO)
Kirkwood Community College (KCC) - Jennifer Bradley, Executive Dean, Arts & Humanities and English Departments
Des Moines Area Community College (DMACC) - Jennifer Kerns, Faculty in Academic Achievement Center, and President-in-waiting for IDEA
Western Iowa Tech Community College (WITCC) - Juline Albert, Chief Academic Officer (CAO)
Iowa Western Community College (IWCC) - Dan Kinney, Sr., President
Southwestern Community College (SWCC) - Bill Taylor, Vice President for Instruction
Indian Hills Community College (IHCC) - Noel Gorden, Department Chair, Academic Services
Southeastern Community College (SCC) - Susan Reid, Faculty in English and Learning Resources Coordinator

Printed from the Iowa Department of Education website on September 30, 2022 at 1:45pm.