Skip to main content

Computer Science Education Work Group

The Iowa Department of Education established two work groups in response to Senate File 274, which former Gov. Branstad signed into law in 2017. The legislation encourages computer science in every Iowa school, establishes voluntary computer science standards and creates a computer science professional development fund to help prepare teachers.

The Department established a Computer Science Education Work Group to address critical issues in expanding computer science opportunities for students statewide (See the group's membership, meeting information and final report below). 

A second group, the Computer Science Standards Review Team, was established to review and recommend statewide standards for computer science education. Read more on the review team's webpage.

Final Report

Computer Science Education Work Group Report

Meeting Dates and Agendas

Wednesday, May 31, 2017

Tuesday, June 20 - Meeting cancelled.

Tuesday, August 15, 2017

Wednesday, September 13, 2017

Wednesday, October 18, 2017


Stephanie Atkin, Director, Analyst Relations, Workiva
Lisa Bartusek, Executive Director, Iowa Association of School Boards
Bennett Brown, Teacher, Iowa City Community School District
Dan Carver, Teacher, Carlisle Elementary School 
Soma Chaudhuri, Associate Professor, Department of Computer Science, Iowa State University
Mary Jane Cobb , Executive Director, Iowa State Education Association
Erika Cook, Bureau Chief, Standards and Curriculum, Iowa Department of Education
Tim Cronin, Superintendent, Central City Community School District
Steve Davis, President, Bio::Neos, Inc.
Don Doucette, Chancellor, Eastern Iowa Community Colleges
*Charlie Edwards, President, Iowa State Board of Education
*Linda Fandel, Special Assistant for Education, Office of the Governor
Sharon Flinspach, Teacher, Fairfield High School
Pei Fong, Student, Iowa State University
Stephen Fyfe, Professor, Central College
Moises Garcia, Student, Marshalltown Community School District 
Mark Gruwell, Owner, LearnAcre
*Rita Hart, State Senator, Wheatland
Cindy Herren, Teacher, Brookview Elementary School, Waukee
Brian Hill, Teacher, North Middle School, Sioux City
Denise Hoag, Teacher, Thomas Jefferson High School, Council Bluffs 
Roark Horn, Executive Director, School Administrators of Iowa
Tony Kioko, Principal Financial Group
*Monica Kurth, State Representative, Davenport
Ann Lebo, Executive Director, Iowa Board of Educational Examiners
Patrick Miller, Principal, Odebolt Arthur Battle Creek Ida Grove High School
Gertie Monat, School Improvement Facilitator, Keystone Area Education Agency
*Tom Moore, State Representative, Griswold
Nancy Mwirotsi, Pi 515 Program
Jason Pontius, Director of Institutional Research, Iowa Board of Regents
Todd Prusha, Executive Dean, Distance Learning, Kirkwood Community College
Erin Rollenhagen, CEO, Entrepreneurial Technologies
*Amy Sinclair, State Senator, Allerton
Jeremy Varner, Division Administrator, Community Colleges & Workforce Preparation, Iowa Department of Education
Brian Waller, President, Technology Association of Iowa
Jeff Weld, Executive Director, Governor's STEM Advisory Council, University of Northern Iowa
Ann Wiley, Instructional Technology Coordinator, Johnston Community School District
Ryan Wise, Director, Iowa Department of Education, Facilitator

* Ex officio member