Skip to main content
Official State of Iowa Website Here is how you know

Nominate a Presidential Scholar by Sept. 30

Date: Tuesday, August 23, 2022

The Iowa Department of Education is seeking nominations for outstanding high school seniors for the 2022 U.S. Presidential Scholars selection cycle. We encourage you to nominate students who, while demonstrating outstanding scholarship, might not otherwise be nominated through the current SAT/ACT, arts or Career and Technical Education (CTE) recognition processes.

If you have an outstanding high school senior deserving of consideration, submit a nomination through the Department’s online Presidential Scholar Nomination Form by Sept. 30.

Department Director Ann Lebo will select 25 students (10 males, 10 females, and five in the CTE category) to submit to the U.S. Presidential Scholar Program for consideration. The 2022 Presidential Scholars will be selected by the Commission on Presidential Scholars and will receive the Presidential Scholars Medallion at a ceremony in their honor in Washington, D.C. Reviewers will consider the following categories:

  • Involvement and service (in school and community)
  • Leadership and character
  • Writing samples
  • Academic achievements
  • Discretionary points for extraordinary achievement, heavy workload, family responsibilities, or obstacles overcome.

The CTE component of the program will honor students on the basis of outstanding scholarship and demonstrated ability and accomplishment in career and technical education fields. Reviewers will consider the following categories:

  • Mastery of technical skills
  • Strength in teamwork, decision-making, and problem-solving
  • Real-world application

Specific information to be included in each nomination is described on the Department’s online General Component Presidential Scholar Nomination form (now closed), or the CTE Component Presidential Scholar Nomination form (now closed). Nominations must be submitted no later than Sept. 30.

Read more about the Presidential Scholars Program.