Skip to main content
Official State of Iowa Website Here is how you know

Governor Reynolds, Iowa Department of Education award over $8.6 million in K-12 school mental health grants

Date: Tuesday, August 24, 2021

DES MOINES - Gov. Kim Reynolds and the Iowa Department of Education today announced over $8.6 million in competitive grants will be awarded to 64 school districts to assist them in providing mental health support and other wraparound services to students and families.

The funds are provided through the Governor’s Emergency Education Relief Fund (GEER II), which is part of the federal Coronavirus Response and Relief Supplemental Appropriations (CRSSA) Act passed in December 2020. Governors in each state were granted a share of discretionary dollars to address critical needs resulting from the COVID-19 pandemic. 

“We have to look at the whole health of every child and supporting the mental health of Iowa children and families is a top priority of mine,” said Gov. Reynolds. “This investment is not only about adapting to the challenges we face today, but it will help schools expand support systems to secure better outcomes moving forward."  

“As we prepare for a new school year it is important to remember that what happens outside of the classroom has a substantial impact on students in the classroom,” said Ann Lebo, director of the Iowa Department of Education. “These additional resources will help schools expand services to address growing social-emotional-behavioral health needs and support the overall well-being of students, including youth mental health first aid training and implementation, suicide prevention services and other programming.”

A total of 130 grant applications were received. Funding will be distributed equitably across awardees based on district-certified enrollment for 2020-21 school year unless an applicant requested a different amount. Applicants had to demonstrate unique student and family mental health needs related to the COVID-19 pandemic. Priority consideration was given to applicant districts proposing to provide direct mental health services to students and families.

Grants will be finalized following a 10-business-day appeal period as required by state law and distributed on a reimbursement basis. The Notice of Intent to Award letters sent to the school districts today starts the 10-business day-period in which an unsuccessful grantee may file an appeal.


District Award*
Anamosa $80,000
Benton $100,000
Cedar Falls $2,087
Cedar Rapids $624,000
Center Point-Urbana $91,000
Charles City $100,000
Cherokee $53,000
Clear Lake $100,000
Clinton $325,000
College $325,000
Collins-Maxwell $38,000
Davenport $650,000
Davis County $94,000
Decorah $75,000
Denver $70,000
Diagonal $30,000
Dubuque $650,000
East Sac County $70,000
Grundy Center $70,000
Humboldt $100,000
Indianola $155,000
Iowa City $650,000
Johnston $325,000
Keokuk $100,000
Knoxville $100,000
Lewis Central $184,000
Maquoketa Valley $30,000
Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn $38,000
Marion $63,000
Marshalltown $325,000
Monticello $70,000
New Hampton $60,000
New London $38,000
North Cedar $70,000
North Fayette Valley $88,000
North Scott $184,000
Northwood-Kensett $38,000
Olin $30,000
Oskaloosa $184,000
Ottumwa $325,000
PCM $100,000
Remsen-Union $30,000
Roland-Story $65,000
Seymour $30,000
Sheldon $100,000
Sioux City $178,867
South Central Calhoun $70,000
South Winneshiek $38,000
Southeast Warren $38,000
Spencer $100,000
Spirit Lake $100,000
Storm Lake $184,000
Tripoli $30,000
Underwood $70,000
Urbandale $184,000
Washington $100,000
Waverly-Shell Rock $181,937
Webster City $53,000
West Burlington $38,000
West Delaware County $74,000
Williamsburg $100,000
Winfield-Mt Union $30,000
Woodbine $38,000
Woodbury Central $38,000

*Grant awards do not become final until the appeal window has closed. The Notice of Intent to Award starts the ten business day period in which an unsuccessful grantee may file an appeal pursuant to Chapter 281 Iowa Administrative Code Section-7.5(290,17A).