Skip to main content

Two Iowa educators named recipients of prestigious science, math awards

Date: Tuesday, August 4, 2020

DES MOINES – Two Iowa educators were named recipients of the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching and the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Science, Mathematics and Engineering Mentoring.

Sharon K. Jaeschke

Sharon K. Jaeschke, a math teacher at Southeast Valley High School in Gowrie, and Bradley Jacobson, a science teacher at Central Academy, Des Moines Public Schools, were named the recipients.

The Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching are the nation’s highest honors for kindergarten through 12th grade educators of math and science.

“These educators are to be commended for this great achievement,” said Ann Lebo, director of the Iowa Department of Education. “These award-winning teachers lead the way toward excellence and are an inspiration to all.”

Awardees are selected from schools in all 50 States, the District of Columbia, the Department of Defense Education Activity schools, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico and the United States territories.

Bradley Jacobson

More than 5,000 teachers have been recognized since Congress created the program in 1983. The awards are administered by the National Science Foundation on behalf of the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy.

Recognized for their contributions in the classroom and their profession, award recipients are leaders in the improvement of math and science education and role models for their colleagues and in their communities.