Skip to Content

Four people join State Board of Education

Friday, May 6, 2022

New members Cindy Dietz, Cassandra Halls, Nathan Peterson and student Alaina Whittington, joined the Iowa State Board of Education in 2022. The State Board is made up of nine voting members who serve six-year terms and one non-voting student member who serves up to a two-year term.

Cindy Dietz

Cindy DietzCindy Dietz of Cedar Rapids is the director of state government relations at Raytheon Technologies where she advocates for policies on business operations, workforce and the aerospace industry. Previously, Cindy led many communications functions at Collins Aerospace. She has been a part of Iowa’s STEM initiative, serving as a current member of the STEM Advisory Council and as its Interim Executive Director in 2018. Cindy holds a bachelor’s degree in journalism from Iowa State University and is on the board of the Iowa Association of Business and Industry and several local nonprofit organizations.

Cassandra Halls

Cassandra HallsCassandra Halls of Carlisle is the President of 2 THE TOP, a business consulting organization that focuses on strategy development, training facilitation, research and analysis for corporations, nonprofits, colleges, universities and governmental agencies. Cassandra holds a bachelor’s degree in public administration from William Penn University along with an associate degree from North Iowa Area Community College. She serves on the Greater Carlisle Community Foundation and the Carlisle Friends of the Park and is a member of the Carlisle Chamber of Commerce.


Nathan Peterson

Nathan PetersonNathan Peterson of Iowa City joined the State Board in 2022. Nathan is an attorney focusing primarily on criminal law and is a member of the Iowa Bar. He earned both his undergraduate and law degrees from the University of Iowa. Nathan is a veteran of the United States Marine Corps and is an active member of the American Legion.



Alaina Whittington, Student Member

Alaina WhittingtonAlaina Whittington of Diagonal was selected to serve as the State Board student member in 2022. She attends Diagonal High School, where she participates in varsity volleyball, basketball, archery, track and softball. Along with serving as the president of the Mount Ayr FFA chapter and granting chair of the local philanthropy group HELP, Alaina is also a member of band, quiz bowl, drama, speech FIRST Tech Challenge robotics, National Honors Society and student council. Outside of school, Alaina participates in her church’s youth fellowship group, 4-H and the Ringgold County Council.




Article Type: 

Printed from the Iowa Department of Education website on May 27, 2022 at 8:01am.