Skip to Content

Three Iowa students named 2021 U.S. Presidential Scholars

Thursday, May 13, 2021

DES MOINES — Three Iowa high school students have been named to the 57th class of U.S. Presidential Scholars. The program recognizes up to 161 high school seniors from across the country for their accomplishments in academics, the arts and career and technical education fields.

Iowa’s U.S. Presidential Scholars are:

  • Molly Ann Niewoehner, Sumner-Fredericksburg High School, Sumner 
  • Lucas Ian Pierce, Nashua-Plainfield High School, Nashua
  • Dorothy M. Junginger, Valley High School, West Des Moines

“Being named a U.S. Presidential Scholar is a great honor, and I congratulate these outstanding students, their families and their schools on this accomplishment,” said Iowa Department of Education Director Ann Lebo. “During a very challenging year, these students excelled in the classroom and made a positive difference in their schools and communities.”

Pierce and Junginger were recognized for their academic success, and Niewoehner was honored for her outstanding ability and accomplishments in career and technical education (CTE).

Students are selected based on their academic achievement, artistic and technical excellence, essays, school evaluations and transcripts, as well as evidence of community service, leadership and demonstrated commitment to high ideals.

As directed by Presidential Executive Order, the 2021 U.S. Presidential Scholars are comprised of one young man and one young woman from each state, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico, and U.S. families living abroad, as well as 15 chosen at-large, 20 scholars in the arts and 20 scholars in career and technical education.

A complete list of 2021 U.S. Presidential Scholars is available on the U.S. Department of Education website.

Article Type: 

Printed from the Iowa Department of Education website on October 03, 2022 at 10:57am.