Skip to Content

Iowa educators earn national awards for math, science teaching

Wednesday, October 16, 2019

DES MOINES – Four Iowa educators have been named recipients of the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST).

The recipients are:
Deborah Little, Denver Community School District
Maria “Gabby” Granadillo, Cedar Rapids Community School District

Katie McGrane, Waverly-Shell Rock Community School District
Mike Todd, Ames Community School District

Little and McGrane were state finalists in 2018, and Granadillo and Todd were state finalists in 2017. State finalists for 2019 were named recently.

Teachers are selected based on their distinction in the classroom and dedication to improving science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) education.

The PAEMST program, administered by the National Science Foundation (NSF) on behalf of the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy, recognizes outstanding teachers for their contributions to the teaching and learning of mathematics and science.

PAEMST is the highest recognition that a kindergarten-through-12th grade mathematics or science (including computer science) teacher may receive for outstanding teaching in the United States. Since 1983, more than 5,000 teachers nationwide have been recognized for this honor.

Article Type: 

Printed from the Iowa Department of Education website on September 22, 2021 at 4:10am.