Skip to Content

Educators honored as ‘PBIS People of the Year’

Wednesday, May 13, 2020

The Iowa Department of Education is celebrating across all Area Education Agencies outstanding educators recognized for significant accomplishments in the implementation of Positive Behavioral Supports. In previous years, there was only one person chosen, but creating growing and outstanding PBIS/MTSS frameworks has necessitated recognizing more than one individual.

Positive Behavior Intervention and Supports (PBIS) is a Multi-Tiered System of Supports framework. PBIS/MTSS is an every-education decision-making framework that addresses the “whole child,” and attends to academic and social-emotional-behavioral needs of students.

Key features of MTSS include a continuum of supports with increasing intensity matched to student need, the use of research informed practices, and data for decision making. Phrases describing these award winners vary from, “outstanding, changes students’ lives, data-driven, creates positive relationships with all families to changes the culture of our entire school.”

Join with us celebrating the following people (in no particular order) who were chosen from schools across Iowa to be honored as the “PBIS People of the Year.”

Central Rivers AEA

  • Marie Conklin, Washington and Lincoln Elementary; Charles City CSD

Grant Wood AEA

  • Roger Teeling, Elementary Principal, Lisbon CSD 
  • Debra Brokaw School: Secondary School; Midland CSD
  • Lindsey Starmer, Excelsior Middle School District; Linn Mar CSD
  • Marti Hurst, Grant Wood AEA

Great Prairie AEA

  • Jenell Martin, Internal PBIS Coach, Jr/Sr High School; West Burlington ISD
  • Steve Zimmerman, Associate Administrator - Liberty Elementary; Ottumwa CSD
  • Craig Huebner, Internal PBIS Coach - Danville Elementary; Danville CSD

Green Hills AEA

  • Lorraine Duitsman, Lewis Central High School; Lewis Central CSD

Heartland AEA

  • Lacey Sedrel, South Prairie Elementary; Dallas Center-Grimes CSD
  • Julia Tjeerdsma, Madison Elementary; Pella CSD
  • Tiffany Mueller, Prairie City Elementary; Prairie City Monroe CSD

Keystone AEA

  • Beth Duccini - Hempstead High School; Dubuque CSD

Mississippi Bend

  • Jayme Olson, Administrator of Neil Armstrong Elementary; Bettendorf CSD 

Northwest AEA

  • Nichole Zoeller, Irving Elementary, Sioux City CSD

Prairie Lakes AEA

  • Sherie Van Berkum, Alta Elementary; Alta-Aurelia CSD 
  • Teresa Goehring, Okoboji Elementary; Okoboji CSD
Article Type: 

Printed from the Iowa Department of Education website on June 16, 2021 at 12:54pm.