Skip to Content

86 Iowa students selected as candidates for prestigious award

Friday, January 24, 2020

Eighty-six students from Iowa have been named 2020 candidates for the U.S. Presidential Scholars Program.

The U.S. Presidential Scholars Program was established in 1964, by executive order of the president, to recognize and honor some of our nation's most distinguished graduating high school seniors.

In 1979, the program was extended to recognize students who demonstrate exceptional talent in the visual, creative and performing arts. In 2015, the program was again extended to recognize students who demonstrate ability and accomplishment in career and technical education fields.

Each year, up to 161 students are named as Presidential Scholars, one of the nation's highest honors for high school students.

Candidates are encouraged to apply for the honor; application deadline is Feb. 25, 2020. Winners are announced during the week of May 4. For more information, contact or 507-931-8345.

Iowa’s candidates are:

  • Calvin H. Aberg, Forest City - Forest City High School
  • Maryam L. Abuissa, Iowa City - City High School
  • Madelyn E. Anderson, New Providence - Homeschool
  • Silvia Aydinyan, Ames - Ames High School
  • Wyatt Bailey, Mitchelville - Southeast Polk High School
  • Darsh Balani, Bettendorf - Pleasant Valley Community High School
  • Emily K. Ball, Urbandale - Dowling High School
  • Andrew J. Bare, Spencer - Spencer High School
  • Lydia G. Berns-Schweingruber, Ames - Gilbert High School
  • Mary Blanchard, Grinnell - Grinnell Community Senior High School
  • Architha Bommena, West Des Moines - Waukee Community High School
  • Riley H. Bridges, Iowa City - West High School
  • Mason A. Carter, Coralville - West High School
  • Heather E. Cernek, Dewitt - Central-Clinton High School
  • Eugene A. Chang, Lamoni - The Bryn Mawr School
  • Maya S. Chawla, Cedar Rapids - George Washington High School
  • Jason H. Chen, Ames - Ames High School
  • Phillip S. Cooper-Ohm, Council Bluffs - Lewis Central High School
  • Andres F. Cordoba, Ames - Ames High School
  • Amanda J. Debates, Sioux City - East High School
  • Aditya S. Desai, Bettendorf - Pleasant Valley Community High School
  • Matthew H. Ding, Johnston - Johnston High School
  • Dakotah Dresden, West Branch - West Branch High School
  • John P. Drey, Clive - Dowling High School
  • Taylor G. English, Bettendorf - Pleasant Valley Community High School
  • Nathan J. Essner, Ames - Ames High School
  • Sara A. Freund, Dubuque - Wahlert High School
  • Dana R. Frost, Newton - Homeschool
  • Anne M. Garner, Bettendorf - Pleasant Valley Community High School
  • David M. Gaunt, West Des Moines - Valley High School
  • Dillon X. Geng, Coralville - West High School
  • Ingrid Gingerich, Riverside - Mid-Prairie High School
  • William Gleason, Iowa City - West High School
  • Michael Y. Han, Coralville - West High School
  • Martin I. Happel, Cedar Rapids - George Washington High School
  • Justin T. Hettlage, Bettendorf - Bettendorf High School
  • Isabella Hoeger-Pinto, Iowa City - West High School
  • Hannah Huang, Ames - Ames High School
  • Emily R. Huisinga, Slater - Ballard High School
  • Prithvi Jamadagni, Johnston - North High School
  • Maneesh R. John, Marion - Linn-Mar High School
  • Brock L. Jordan, Newton - Newton High School
  • Animesh S. Joshi, West Des Moines - Valley High School
  • Pooja Kasiviswanathan, Ames - Ames High School
  • David L. Kim, Ames - Ames High School
  • Brogan G. Kirkpatrick, West Des Moines - Valley High School
  • Mira Kumar, Iowa City - City High School
  • Kathryn Landhuis, Clarinda - Clarinda High School
  • Olivia Laube, Altoona - Southeast Polk High School
  • Lydia Lee, Inwood - West Lyon High School
  • Jayne N. Levi, Nashua - Nashua Plainfield High School
  • Peijing Li, Ames - Unknown High School
  • Brenda A. Lora, Ankeny - Ankeny Centennial High School
  • Gabriel A. Love, Keokuk - Keokuk High School
  • Enya S. Martinez, Onawa - West Monona High School
  • Elizabeth C. Meyer, Sioux City - Heelan High School
  • Kylie A. Morrison, Logan - Logan-Magnolia High School
  • Ethan L. Murra, Knoxville - Knoxville Senior High School
  • Jacob Nedder, Pella - Pella Community High School
  • Olivia M. Nicholson, Dexter - Earlham Jr-Sr High School
  • Owen J. Perrin, Carroll - Carroll High School
  • Brian A. Prussman, Muscatine - Muscatine High School
  • Lauryn J. Renze, Des Moines - Dowling High School
  • Alexander T. Reynolds, Hudson - Hudson High School
  • Caleb Rock, Peterson - Sioux Central Community Sch
  • Benjamin I. Rodriguez, Ankeny - Ankeny Centennial High School
  • Marcos Rosales, Storm Lake - Storm Lake Senior High School
  • Cynthia Salinas-Cappellano, Council Bluffs - Thomas Jefferson High School
  • Paul S. Scanlon, Cedar Rapids - Marion Home School Assistance Program
  • Katharina L. Schmidt, Des Moines - Roosevelt High School
  • Ellie Schultes, Exira - Elk Horn-Kimballton High Sch
  • Jasper A. Shogren-Knaak, Ames - Ames High School
  • Elena G. Sierra, Waukee - Waukee Community High School
  • Gabriella M. Snyder, Adel - Adel-Desoto- Minburn High School
  • Sarah S. Song, Ames - Ames High School
  • Joseph T. Sullivan, Osage - Osage Community High School
  • Denyse Turnquist, Dewitt - Central-Clinton High School
  • Blake R. Van Der Kamp, Prairie City - Pcm High School
  • Andrew D. Waters, West Des Moines - Valley High School
  • Julian N. Wemmie, Coralville - West High School
  • Kathryn N. Wittrock, Urbandale - Valley High School
  • Katie J. Wolf, Cedar Rapids - John F. Kennedy Senior High School
  • Fez S. Zafar, Clive - Roosevelt High School
  • Stella S. Zeng, Johnston - Johnston High School
  • William Y. Zhang, Coralville - West High School
  • Savannah K. Zhou, Cedar Rapids - Linn-Mar High School
  • Jocelyn J. Zonnefeld, Sioux Center - Unity Christian High School
Article Type: 

Printed from the Iowa Department of Education website on December 08, 2021 at 5:52pm.