Skip to Content

Outstanding Iowa teachers recognized for outstanding work

Thursday, January 25, 2018

Outstanding Iowa TeachersEleven Iowa teachers were recognized during the Outstanding Iowa Teachers Recognition Luncheon today in Des Moines. Gov. Kim Reynolds, Lt. Gov. Adam Gregg, Iowa Department of Education Director Ryan Wise and Iowa Department of Education Bureau Chief Linda Carroll presided over the luncheon. (Check out our photos.)

The event was held at the State Historical Museum in Des Moines.

Those honored were: 

  • Iowa Teacher of the Year
    Awardee:  Aileen Sullivan, Ames High School, Ames Community School District

    Finalists: Heather Anderson, Grant Ragan Elementary School, Waukee Community School District; Chelsea Bissen, Carroll High School, Carroll Community School District; Jeremiah Cooper, Waukee High School, Waukee Community School District;  Susan Jordan, Morningside Elementary School, Sioux City Community School District; Keith Kersten, Logan-Magnolia High School, Logan-Magnolia Community School District 
  • Iowa Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching
    Mathematics Finalists: Rachel Giesmann, Mediapolis High School, Mediapolis Community School District; Maria Granadillo, McKinley Middle School, Cedar Rapids Community School District
    Science Finalists:  Mike Todd, Ames High School, Ames Community School District; Mike Wedge, Sibley-Ocheyedan High School, Sibley-Ocheyedan Community School District
  • State History Teacher of the Year
  • Awardee: Rebecca Helland, Jefferson Intermediate School, Pella Community School District

About the awards:

Iowa Teacher of the Year

The award, established in 1958, is sponsored by the Iowa Department of Education through an appropriation from the Iowa Legislature. The award honors an Iowa teacher who motivates, challenges and inspires excellence; who is respected by students and peers; and who is an exceptional teacher helping to redefine American education. Honorees serve as ambassadors to education and act as liaisons to schools, higher education and organizations across the state.

The Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching

These awards represent the nation's highest honors for teachers of mathematics and science. Awardees serve as models for their colleagues, inspiration to their communities and leaders in improving mathematics and science education.

State History Teacher of the Year

The History Teacher of the Year program is sponsored by the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History, a nonprofit organization devoted to the improvement of history education. The institute has developed an array of programs for schools, teachers and students nationwide. Its programs have been recognized by awards from the White House, the National Endowment for the Humanities, and the Organization of American Historians.

Article Type: 

Printed from the Iowa Department of Education website on March 08, 2021 at 4:23pm.