Skip to Content

CTE Standards


The State Board of Education adopted new career and technical education (CTE) standards in September of 2019 for secondary CTE programs that enroll middle and high school students.

CTE broadly encompasses six service areas: agriculture, food and natural resources; applied sciences, technology, engineering, and manufacturing; business, finance, marketing and management; health science; human services; and information solutions. The CTE standards corresponding to each service area are required for Iowa schools that offer those programs.

CTE standards and benchmarks set clear and consistent foundational expectations for what students need to learn in high-quality CTE programs across the state. They serve as a guide for Iowa educators as they develop curriculum, courses and classroom activities locally. The standards terminology corresponds with national standards and curriculum for ease of use by the service area educator. 

Iowa CTE State Standards Guidance

Agriculture, Food, and Natural Resources (PDF) -- (Word) 

Business, Finance, Marketing and Management (PDF) -- (Word)

Health Sciences (PDF) -- (Word)

Human Services - Family Consumer Sciences (PDF) -- (Word)

Applied Sciences, Technology, Engineering and Manufacturing (PDF) -- (Word)

Information Solutions Standards (PDF) -- (Word)

Universal CTE Standards (PDF) -- (Word)

Crosswalk with 21st Century Skills 2019 (PDF) -- (Word)

Printed from the Iowa Department of Education website on December 01, 2021 at 6:23am.