Skip to main content
Official State of Iowa Website Here is how you know

CTE Standards


The State Board of Education has adopted career and technical education (CTE) standards for high school and middle school CTE programs. The CTE standards correspond to each of the six service areas and are required for Iowa schools offering CTE programs. The six service areas include: agriculture, food and natural resources; applied sciences, technology, engineering, and manufacturing; business, finance, marketing and management; health science; human services; and information solutions.

Iowa CTE State Standards for High School Programs

Agriculture, Food, and Natural Resources (PDF) -- (Word) 

Business, Finance, Marketing and Management (PDF) -- (Word)

Health Sciences (PDF) -- (Word)

Human Services - Family Consumer Sciences (PDF) -- (Word)

Applied Sciences, Technology, Engineering and Manufacturing (PDF) -- (Word)

Information Solutions Standards (PDF) -- (Word)

Iowa CTE State Standards for Middle School Programs

Iowa CTE State Standards for Middle School Programs

Universal CTE Standards

Universal CTE Standards (PDF) -- (Word)

Additional Standards Information

Crosswalk with 21st Century Skills 2019 (PDF) -- (Word)

Iowa CTE State Standards Guidance