Skip to Content

CTE Standards


The State Board of Education adopted new career and technical education (CTE) standards in September of 2019 for secondary CTE programs that enroll middle and high school students.

CTE broadly encompasses six service areas: agriculture, food and natural resources; applied sciences, technology, engineering, and manufacturing; business, finance, marketing and management; health science; human services; and information solutions.

The statewide standards are based on recommendations from Iowa program management teams in five of the six service areas. Work will begin on standards for the sixth service area, applied sciences, technology, engineering and manufacturing in the near future. The CTE standards corresponding to each service area are required for Iowa schools that offer those programs.

The standards were established as part of HF 2392, state legislation signed into law in 2016, which is helping shape the future of CTE in Iowa. The new CTE standards and benchmarks will set clear and consistent foundational expectations for what students need to learn in high-quality CTE programs across the state. They will also serve as a guide for Iowa educators as they develop curriculum, courses and classroom activities locally. 

Iowa CTE State Standards Guidance

Agriculture, Food, and Natural Resources

Business, Finance, Marketing, and Management

Health Sciences

Human Services - Family Consumer Sciences

Applied Sciences, Technology, Engineering and Manufacturing

Information Technology Standards

Universal CTE Standards 2019

Crosswalk with 21st Century Skills 2019

Printed from the Iowa Department of Education website on January 27, 2021 at 2:49pm.